Skip To Main Content

Hall of Honor

Public schools have existed on Galveston Island since 1884. In those 138 years, many notable individuals have walked the halls of Galveston schools and soon, those who have distinctly distinguished themselves as role models within their profession or in their communities at large will be memorialized in the Galveston Public Schools Hall of Honor. The inaugural class of around 20 inductees will be announced in the spring of 2022 and a handful of carefully selected candidates will be inducted every year thereafter.

Nominations can be made in the categories of Industry, Sports, Government, Military, and Community Service. Those under consideration will have had to have attended a public school in Galveston and the nominator will be responsible for filling out an online form containing more information about the selection and why they should be considered.

The inaugural class will be recognized at a public ceremony and banquet sometime in the spring or summer of 2022. The individuals will initially be enshrined in the online platform and information detailing each inductee will accompany the profiles. The hope is to have an actual hall at a physical location in a GISD facility in the near future. There, each inductee would have an individual display with something like an engraved plaque or sculptured bust to accompany their photo and biography.

Hall of Honor Committee

Mark Kelso
Angela Wilson
Vice President
Dr. Vivian Hernandez
Rob Lewis
Rey Medellin
David O'Neal
Dyann Polzin

If you are interested in serving or would like to nominate someone for the committee this year or in the future, please send an email to