Skip To Main Content

Contact: Darin Clark       
Phone: (409) 766-5145

GALVESTON, Texas – May 24, 2023 - Galveston ISD staff members and administrators gathered this week to recognize the 2022-2023 employees and teachers of the year during an annual celebration hosted by GISD’s Department of Human Capital Management.  

Award recipients were announced and given an opportunity to speak to the audience and then presented with a prize package donated by local sponsors. The awards were handed out by members of the GISD Board of Trustees.

The following awards were presented:

Campus Elementary Teachers of the Year  
Maria Bailon - Burnet Elementary
Kris Hennon - Crenshaw Environmental Science Magnet
Marina Garcia - Morgan Elementary Health, Medical Science and Engineering Magnet
Nichole Duepner - Oppe Elementary Magnet Campus of Coastal Studies
Cameron Andrade - Parker Elementary.
Caitlyn Key - Rosenberg Elementary

Campus Secondary Teachers of the Year
Patty Healy – Weis Middle School
Rhante Lubrico - Austin Middle School
Victoria Lowrie - AIM College and Preparatory
Jordan Williams - Central Middle School
Christopher Shinn - Ball High School
Stephanie Burks - DAEP

Rookie Teachers of the Year
Elementary Rookie Teacher of the Year
Sarah Adams - Oppe Elementary Magnet Campus of Coastal Studies

Secondary Rookie Teacher of the Year
Michele Mejia - Austin Middle School

Department Employees of the Year
Michele Griffin - Child Nutrition
Dionisha Hunter - Facilities
Britany Taylor - GISD Police Department
Maria Patina - Support Center/Annex
R. J. Creighton, Jr. – Transportation

District Awards
Kris Hennon – Elementary Teacher of the Year - Crenshaw Environmental Science Magnet School
Rhante Lubrico – Secondary Teacher of the Year - Austin Middle School
Bryan Curran - Professional Employee of the Year
Auxiliary Support Employee of the Year - R. J. Creighton, Jr.

Congratulations to these outstanding employees!


Dyann Polzin
Maira Bailon
K Henson
M Garcia
N Duepner
C Andrade
C Key
R Lubrico
V Lowrie
C Shinn
J Williams
S Burks
P Healy
S Adams
M Mejia
M Griffin
D Hunter
B Taylor
M Patina
RJ Creighton
Kris Hanson
Rhante Lubrico.
Bryan Curran
R J Creighton Jr